Charts and Doves

18 Aug 2014 | News

Hip-hop music by Christian artists has been catching attention for the last 20 years.  Lately it feels like it's more than before, with great labels like Reach, Humble Beast, and illect.

  • Lecrae with #1 position on the iTunes overall songs chart for "All I Need Is You"
  • Lecrae is the first artist to hold all three top positions in the Billboard Gospel Songs chart.  The songs are "All I Need Is You", "Nuthin" and "Fear".
  • Swoope's album "Sinema" in the "New & Noteworthy" in the Australian iTunes "Hip Hop/Rap" store.  It got the #1 spot on the Billboard Gospel albums charts, and #1 on Amazon.
  • ILLECT Recordings latest compilation "Mind the Rap vol 3" has been smashing the Amazon music charts.  All three volumes have reached #1 on the Hip-Hop chart, and volume 3 has even hit #3 on the main chart.
  • NF is the first hip-hop artist to be signed to Capitol Records.  His "NF - EP" is number 4 in the Billboard Gospel charts.

Dove Awards 2014

No real surprise then that Lecrae has been nominated a Dove award for "Artist of the Year."  He also appears as a feature on a few other nominated tracks, including "Help" by Erica Campbell.

Andy Mineo has been nominated for "New Artist of the Year."  He also has 2 nominations for "Rap/Hip Hop Song of the Year."

The Dove Awards are run annually by the Gospel Music Association of America.

This year's award ceremony will be hosted by Lecrae and Bart Millard (lead singer of MercyMe).

Artist of the Year:

  • Casting Crowns, Beach Street Records/Reunion Records
  • Hillsong UNITED, Hillsong Music  [WINNER]
  • Lecrae, Reach Records
  • Mandisa, Sparrow Records
  • NEEDTOBREATHE, Atlantic Records
  • Switchfoot, Atlantic Records

New Artist of the Year:

  • 1 Girl Nation, Reunion Records
  • Andy Mineo, Reach Records
  • Ellie Holcomb, Full Heart  [WINNER]
  • Hillsong Young & Free, Hillsong Music/Sparrow Records
  • Love & The Outcome, Word Entertainment

Rap/Hip Hop Song of the Year:

  • “100” – KB (ft. Andy Mineo), (writers) Kevin Burgess, Andy Mineo
  • “Dear Mr. Christian”- Derek Minor (ft. Dee-1 and Lecrae), (writers) Torrance “Street Symphony” Esmond, David Augustine Jr., Lecrae Moore, Derek Johnson, Charles Dunlap, Lincoln Mooris
  • “Head Held High” - Rapture Ruckus, (writer) Tofer Brown
  • “Stop The Traffic” - Andy Mineo (ft. Co Campbell), (writers) Andy Mineo, Co Campbell
  • “You Can't Stop Me” - Andy Mineo, (writers) Andy Mineo, Alex Medina, Gabriel Azucena

Rap/Hip Hop Album of the Year:

  • 100 – KB, (producers) Joseph Prielozny, Dirty Rice, Lasanna Harris, George Ramirez, Gabriel Azucena, Chris Mackey, Tyshane Thompson, Jacob Cardec
  • Invader – Rapture Ruckus, (producer) Brad Dring, Geoff Duncan, Steve Aeillo
  • Minorville – Derek Minor, (producers) Joseph Prielozny, Derek Johnson, Chris Mackey, Derek Minor, Torrance Esmond, Charles Dunlap, Lincoln Morris, Krishon Gaines, George Ramirez, Brian Tistog, Blair Atkinson, Gabriel Azucena
  • Never Land – Andy Mineo, (producers) Joseph Prielozny, Alex Medina, Tyshane Thompson, Gabriel Azucena, Ray Castro, Dre Garcia, Alex Hitchens, Courtney Peebles  [WINNER]
  • Royal Flush – FLAME, (producers) Mashell Leroy, Steve T, Spec, Tyshane Thompson, D-Flow, Thainnacircle, Justin Ebach

Covenant Awards 2014

Canada's Gospel Music Association have their 36th awards ceremony on the 13th of November.  All artists are Canadian, except for the international song of the year.

Rap Song Of The Year:

  • Solitude featuring Fresh IE – Fire Flame
  • Foluke Akinremi – Give God the Glory
  • ZING – Find My Sheep
  • A. McLean – Hindsight
  • Young Scribe, Psalms & Fresh IE – The City is Fallen

Rap Album Of The Year:

  • ZING – White Robes
  • MC Bubba B – #BooM!
  • Fresh IE Presents: KMF – The Watchmen
  • One8tea – U Turn
  • Young Scribe – The Call Out